Hoarding is not collection development

Echoes of Love

Echoes of Love, From Heavens Above
Nivelli
2003

Submitter: Published and purchased by our library in 2007, and circulated never.

Holly: There is a very specific audience for this book. It is cataloged with the subjects “narrative poetry” and “spirits.” It is about a woman named Lotte, her trials and tribulations, and how love transcends death. It would make a good read-alike for Sylvia Browne’s books. It was probably written in all sincerity, but I’m not surprised it never circulated. With a Dewey call number of 811.6, it is lumped in with other poetry books. It might do better in the 133’s where people who are into spirits and the afterlife will find it. I’d re-catalog it and try again before weeding it.

More Spiritual Enlightenment:

Older Than God

Out of the Body or Out of the Library?

The Urantia Book

How to Make ESP Work for You

12 Responses to Echoes of Love

  • “Posted in The Unexplained and Just Plain Crazy” — that really says it all. Especially as regards how this book ever got published. I would say your patrons deserve praise for being smart enough not to take this book out! Forget waterboarding — being forced to read this or listen to it would be exquisite torture.

  • But people who read this sort of thing are the same sort of people who clamor to read Sylvia Brown and John Edward’s books, as well as the one “Heaven is For Real”….

  • When I get to Heaven, I expect to find good poetry (nothing with “Hans” as a lyric).

  • Non-librarian question: do librarians normally choose the Dewey decimal classification of books that come in, or do y’all just refer to some central authority? Is it common for some books to have different Dewey decimal numbers in different libraries?

    • Or in other words, What Dew-ey Do? (rim shot in the background: ba da bumb) Thank you, thank you (takes bows).

      Non-librarian question?? Sounds very much like a librarian question ;) .

      But in earnest, the Library of Congress has authoritative records (almost always), and those can be consulted when you don’t know what to do. Most records now are just copy cataloged, very little original cataloging is done nowadays (unless you are a special collections librarian). I work in an academic environment, so we use Library of Congress Classification System, not Dewey Decimal, and I am not a cataloging librarian either.

      Sometimes books are so helpful that on the copyright page of a book, it even has a sample record of the book ready for you. Sometimes the book vendor will have the records ready in a batch file, and you just have to download them.

      Some libraries pay a service to have most everything already done, so that way when the books actually arrive at the library, they can almost immediately go to the “new books” shelf. One of those things that could be part of that service is preparing of records, and so it is not really the librarian choosing what goes where, but it could be re-cataloged by a librarian at anytime (if they know how, that is, and I don’t -I stayed far, far away from cataloging classes while getting my degree, at least as much as I could-).

      There are differing degrees of this paid service (if the library even subscribes to it), and is all under the label of “processing” (which my library is too small to be able to pay for this service, so our tech services person -and her student workers, when she has them- puts pockets on the books, stamps the library name inside the book, on the fore-edge of the book, puts in the tattle-tail strip, puts on the barcode, puts on the call number on the spine, copy catalogs the record from elsewhere (probably from OCLC), and anything else I may forget about). Depending on the level you have paid for will cover very little to almost all of the above listed tasks.

    • There are authorities for both Dewey and Library of Congress. That being said, there is room for variation in Dewey. You might find a book about the US Civil Rights Movement in the socio-political section or the US History section. If a librarian is not sure about the category, s/he searches online or print resources to see how other libraries have classified the book, or how similar books have been cataloged. It’s more “assigning” a number than “choosing” one. Here’s a list: http://www.library.illinois.edu/ugl/about/dewey.html and here’s a resource I like to use: http://classify.oclc.org

  • Ugh, what abysmal poetry. I think the rubbish I wrote as a mopey teenager was probably better, and that’s really saying something.

  • The author’s name is Mickey. Lotte apparently is “in the body” as Spiritualists apparently say to mean “alive”, but I wonder if Mickey is this Mickey and Lotte is his spirit-mother. Herbert apparently is “in spirit” but has a goading smile. What is he smiling with? Is Lotte doing an alas-poor-Yorick bit when Hans isn’t around?

    You can only tell that it’s meant to be poetry because it rhymes, and because the cover says so. I’m guessing that “the most terrifying period of human history” is Nazi Germany – Lotte is from Germany – and not the French Revolution for instance. It seems therefore that English is a second language for Lotte, but should the poetry read that way?

    Or it could be a fantasy involving the famous Hans and Lotte Hass, but they’re Austrian – then again, Austria was attached to Germany by the Nazis, and, of course, German is the language there.